Menu Title


Hyper realist. Anthropomorphic. Gastronomic.

2020 Featured Artist Denise Stewart-Sanabria

Born in Massachusetts, Denise received her BFA in Painting from the University of Massachusetts/Amherst.

Denise paints both hyper-realist portraits of everything from produce to subversive jelly donuts. The anthropomorphic narratives often are reflections on human behavior. She is also known for her life size charcoal portrait drawings on plywood, which are cut out, mounted on wood bases, and staged in conceptual installations.

She is a recipient of the 2019 Tennessee Arts Commission Individual Artist Grant for her work on wood.

Recent group and solo exhibits include: “Drawing Discourse”, S. Tucker Cooke Gallery, University of North Carolina, “Virtual Reality” John P. Weatherhead Gallery, University of Saint Francis, Fort Wayne, IN, “Feast Your Eyes: Celebrating the Food of the South”, Franklin G. Burroughs-Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum, Myrtle Beach, SC, the “36th Bradley International Print and Drawing Exhibition”, Bradley University, Peoria, Ill, “28th National Drawing & Print Exhibition”, Gormley Gallery, Notre Dame of Maryland University, Baltimore, MD, Nashville, TN, and “Quantum Continuum” Rebecca Randall Bryan Gallery, Coastal Carolina University, Conway, SC, “Encounters”, at the Huntsville Museum of Art in Huntsville Alabama, Off Menu: Contemporary Art About Food: Bedford Gallery at the Lesher Center for Contemporary Arts, Walnut Creek, CA, and “Coined in the South” at the Mint Museum in Charlotte, NC.

Her work is included in various museums, private, and corporate collections including: The Tennessee State Museum, The Evansville Museum of Art in Indiana, the Knoxville Museum of Art, Huntsville Museum of Art, Notre Dame of Maryland University, Firstbank TN, Pinnacle Banks, Omni and Opryland Hotels, Scripps Networks, Knoxville Botanical Gardens, Jewelry Television, TriStar Energy, the Aslan Foundation, and the corporate offices of McGhee Tyson Airport.

The artist lives and works in Knoxville, Tenn.



Culture Shock Goes Grand, 2020. Oil on linen, 40 x 40 inches

Denise Stewart-Sanabria joins the ranks of the sublime artists below who have made L’Amour du Vin such an exciting event for art lovers. If you had the pleasure of attending in 2019, you’ll recall Andrew Erdo’s talented work. If you are new to L’Amour du Vin, these are the artists who have joined us over the past 17 years.

Past Featured Artists

2019 Andrew Erdos, Brooklyn, NY

2018 Darren Waterston, New York, NY

2017 Jered Sprecher, Knoxville, TN

2016 Tomory Dodge, Los Angeles, CA

2015 Andrew Saftel East Tennessee

2014 Richard Jolley, Knoxville, TN

2013 Robert Van Vranken, West Danville, VT

2012 Hunt Slonem, New York, NY

2011 Sandy Walker, Oakland, CA

2010 Scott Duce, New York, NY

2009 Andrew Saftel, Pikeville, TN

2008 Robin Surber, Knoxville, TN

2007 Marga Hayes McBride, Knoxville, TN

2006 Cynthia Tollefsrud, Knoxville, TN

2005 Image used with consent of Raoul Dufy

2004 Image used with consent of Giulianna Cosentino Marple

For information about L’Amour du Vin, contact Carla May Paré at 865.934.2043 or                         Donate to Knoxville Museum of Art

Knoxville Museum of Art


In order to comply with the regulations of the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission, we cannot allow auction lots of wine purchased at the silent or live auction to be removed from the Museum. All wine must be picked up from a licensed retailer. We apologize for this inconvenience.